Thursday = Thirsty: Episode 14 – Time to let the church die

Posted: June 27, 2013 in Good News, Life to the full, Thirsty
Tags: , , , , , ,

burning churchAs this is my last Thursday post for The Weekly Mash [and Peace!] I decided to use both of the posts I had set aside for Thursdays to come because they are both so powerful. So there is not intrinsic link between the two except to say that maybe they both capture the heart of what this thing we believe is truly supposed to be about. The first is an article called: ‘Open letter to Church: Let it die’ which I’m sure prompted a lot of well-meaning people to chime in with angry comments without reading this first. It is an article by a guy called Aaron from the Cultural Savage blog page which in essence is saying’let that which the church is not meant to be about but has become, die’ – it really is a good read, but you really need to listen carefully to what Aaron is trying to say and especially hear the big CHURCH I LOVE YOU halfway through the piece:

http://culturalsavage.com/christianity/open-letter-church

Next up is N.T.Wright who I have sadly not been able to read much of yet but he is a name that comes up a lot and I respect him just from the little I know him and how highly recommended he comes from people I really respect. But this video clip of him was my first main exposure to him in which he talks about what the gospel really is about and it is a very powerful and accurate piece so really try and find for yourself the 13 or so minutes it takes because this is great stuff to hear and be reminded of:

[For last Thursday’s Jesus rose from the grave [and you can’t even get out of bed] click here]

Comments
  1. Robert Martin says:

    So… wait… what did I miss… why is this the “last” Thursday Weekly Mash [and Peace]?

    And BTW… LOVE both the NT Wright video AND cultural savages article…

  2. […] was the one I did titled John Piper and the three little pigs, but the one I want to put here is yesterday’s post ‘Time to let the church die’ as it hasn’t had the time to be read as much but no doubt will – an excellent article […]

Leave a comment